Tired with boring up-dos? Try out this Bow Hair

Many are aware that I have always had very, very long hair and sometimes I become restless trying to do something a little imaginative with it. I’ve often self-diagnosed myself as having some sort of tonsurephobia (what the pro’s call a phobia of having your hair cut). Although not as extreme, I do really hate the thought of scissor-happy hairdressers snipping away at my locks. Short, choppy layers frighten me, I simply settle for a little feathering here and there and the longest of layers to eliminate split ends.  My everyday hair is big and curly, but what happens when I just want to shove it up and forget about it? Often a simple bun or a high ponytail will do. Boring, huh.

So a few months ago my friend came across a video: “How to hair bow.” Now I’m no stranger to seeing hair bows, often modelled by Lady GaGa and Paris Hilton, but I always thought they were simply clip-on synthetic hair extensions that a origami artist conjured up. I was therefore surprised when the girl on the Youtube tutorial made it look extremely easy, with no add-ons except her long hair extenstions.

Source:fashion-stylist.net

Here is her fantastic video:

Here’s a quick step-by-step if you are unable to watch:

Step 1: Brush your hair up as if you were to tie a high ponytail.

Step 2: With your hairband/bobble, wrap your hair into a ponytail once. When you wrap around for a second time, don’t pull your hair all the way through into a ponytail. Instead, pull the remainder of your long hair to the front, covering your face, and leave your looped hair in a floppy bun, again, making sure not to pull through the long piece of hair into a ponytail again.

Step 3: Now, with the ponytail still at the front, fan out your floppy bun and split it evenly into two sections with your fingers.

Step 4: With the remainder of your hair, pull over the split to create the bow. Then, tuck the remainder of the hair into the hairband/bobble at the back of the bow, or simply clip it into place.

Step 5: Pin/clip any stray bits and voila! With a touch of hairspray to keep in place you have your hair bow.

I’ve mastered the bow now, and can’t bear to wear my up-do hair any other way on bad hair days or day-old hair. You’ll understand when I say that getting so many compliments on an up-do which once practiced, takes approximately five minutes to produce, can leave me feeling just as good as if my hair was big and bouncy. Let me just repeat though, this hairstyle gets LOTS of attention. I’ve had people at work, on the tube and on the street talk to me about it everytime I’ve worn it. That doesn’t mean I’m an attention seeker either; its easy, creative and gives me more time in bed! Bye bye boring bun, hello bow fun!

My Bow Hair

P.S. I find wearing the bun on top of the head rather than the side holds the style in place better! 😀

Leave a Reply

